Colorado Geographic Naming Advisory Board


The Colorado Geographic Naming Advisory Board (Board) is an advisory Board established by Governor Jared Polis to evaluate proposals concerning name changes, new names, and name controversies of geographic features and certain public places in the State of Colorado and then making official recommendations to the Governor. 

Primary Duties

The Board will primarily assist and cooperate with the United States Board of Geographic Names (BGN), who gives final determinations for standardizing the names of geographic and natural features.  The U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN) is a Federal body created in 1890 and established to maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government. It comprises representatives of Federal agencies concerned with geographic information, population, ecology, and management of public lands.


Monte Vista Crane Festival


The purpose of the Board is to help review and vet proposals for geographic and place name changes and new names for the entire State. Accordingly, it is important that the members of the Board are familiar with and represent different constituencies across the State. Current membership of the Board includes:

  • Representative Perry Will (R-New Castle )
  • Representative Adrienne Benavidez (D-Adams County)
  • Representative Thomas Exum (D-Colorado Springs)
  • Boulder City Council Member Junie Joseph
  • Grand County Commissioner Richard Cimino
  • Kathryn Redhorse, Executive Director, Colorado Commission on Indian Affairs
  • William Wei, 2019 State Historian, serving as a representative of History Colorado
  • Patricia Limerick, Chair, Center of the American West
  • Karen Ann Berry, Director, Colorado Geological Survey
  • Luis Benitez, Vice President of Government Relations and Global Impact for VF, tourism and outdoor recreation industry representative
  • Charleszine “Terry” Nelson, Blair-Caldwell American Research Library
  • Nicki Gonzales, History Colorado’s State Historian’s Council, Associate Professor of History and Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion at Regis University
  • Tim Mauck, Deputy Director of the Department of Natural Resources or his or her designee
  • The Executive Director of the Department of Local Affairs or his or her designee
  • The Director of the Colorado Tourism Office or his or her designee

 Board Membership, Purpose & Scope


Next Meeting 

Thursday, December 16, 2021

8 AM - 11 AM

Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 963 0570 3086
Passcode: M3pYhs
Dial In:
        (408) 638-0968 
        (669) 900-6833 
Meeting ID: 963 0570 3086
Passcode: 852263




Proposals Under Consideration

Negro Creek in Delta County to Clay Creek (USBGN Case 5279)

Negro Mesa in Delta County to Clay Mesa (USBGN Case 5280)

Unnamed feature in Jefferson County to Cimarron Peak (USBGN Case 5113)

Chinaman Gulch in Chaffee County to Trout Creek Gulch (USBGN Case 5124)

Redskin Mountain in Jefferson County to Mount Jerome (USBGN Case 5153)

Calkins Lake in Weld County to Union Reservoir (USBGN Case 5310)

(Board Meeting Packets have further description/background and related correspondence)

Submit public comment or sign up below to receive updates or press releases from the Colorado Geographic Naming Advisory Board.


Individuals or groups interested in proposing a name for a geographic feature must first submit an application through the US Board of Geographic Names. Click on button below to submit a renaming request.

Renaming Application - Online

Renaming Application - PDF

General Board Info:

Media Inquiries & CORA requests:

Chris Arend, Communications Director,, 303-264-8615