Division of Reclamation, Mining & Safety


The mission of the Colorado Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety is to protect the public, miners and the environment during current mining operations, restore abandoned mines, and to ensure that all mined land is reclaimed to beneficial use.

The division is committed to balance the need for mineral resource production with protection of the public, environment and Colorado’s natural resources.

Visit the Mining Site



Michael Cunningham

Director of Division of Reclamation, Mining & Safety

Michael Cunningham, Director, Colorado Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety. He is wearing a gray suit, with a purple tie with a map of Colorado behind him.


Michael Cunningham has spent 16 years of his career at DRMS, most recently as a Senior Environmental Protection Specialist. 

Immediately prior to joining DRMS, Michael worked for the Denver Department of Public Health and Environment where he focused on water quality protection of the lakes and streams in the City and County of Denver. Michael has a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science from the Metropolitan State University of Denver and lives with his wife and two dogs in Lakewood.

Boards and Commissions Info

Coal Mine Board of Examiners

The Mine Safety & Training Program is the administrative arm of the Colorado Coal Mine Board of Examiners. The Board is responsible for setting standards, examination, training and certification of coal miners in the positions of mine foreman (surface and underground), fireboss, shotfirer, surface blaster and electrician in compliance with federal MSHA requirements. The Board meets and conducts certification examinations quarterly. The Board consists of four voting members and one ex officio member appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the General Assembly. Board members serve four year terms. The Board appoints 2-3 members to serve on the Electrical Advisory Panel.

Learn More

Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Board

CMLRB is a multi-interest citizen board which establishes the regulations, standards and policies that guide the Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety. The Board was created in 1976 by the Colorado General Assembly. Members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the legislature, serving terms of 4 years. The composition of the Board is established by the Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Act.

Learn More