Anti-Speculation Law Work Group


The Anti-Speculation Work Group arose out of passage of Senate Bill 20-048 sponsored by Senators Donovan and Coram and Representatives Roberts and Catlin and signed by Governor Polis on March 11, 2021.

Primary Duties

Senate Bill 20-048 requires the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Natural Resources to convene a work group to explore ways to strengthen current anti-speculation law and to report to the water resources review committee by August 15, 2021, regarding any recommended changes. The Work Group is co-chaired by Kevin Rein, State Engineer, and Scott Steinbrecher, Assistant Deputy Attorney General.

Fishing on Stagecoach


  • Kevin Rein (Co-Chair), State Engineer, Division of Water Resources
  • Scott Steinbrecher (Co-Chair), Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Attorney General’s Office
  • Tracy Kosloff, Deputy State Engineer, Division of Water Resources
  • Erin Light, Division 6 Engineer, Division of Water Resources
  • Lauren Ris, Deputy Director, Colorado Water Conservation Board
  • Amy Ostdiek, Deputy Section Chief, Colorado Water Conservation Board
  • Alex Funk, Agricultural Water Resource Specialist, Colorado Water Conservation Board
  • Justice Gregory Hobbs Jr., Colorado Supreme Court Justice (ret.)
  • Joe Bernal, Bernal Farms
  • Daris Jutten, Lazy K Bar Land and Cattle Co.
  • Joe Frank, General Manager, Lower South Platte Water Conservancy District
  • Larry Clever, General Manager, Ute Water Conservancy District
  • Alex Davis, Water Resources Division Manager, Aurora Water
  • Peggy Montaño, Trout Raley
  • Peter Fleming, General Counsel to the Colorado River District
  • Adam Reeves, Maynes, Bradford, Shipps and Sheftel LLP
  • Steve Leonhardt, Burns, Figa & Will
  • Drew Peternell, Colorado Director, Trout Unlimited
  • Kate Ryan, Senior Attorney, Colorado Water Trust


Next Meeting

June 17, 2021

10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 930 3526 4480
Passcode: G3h60R

Dial In:
        (253) 215-8782
        (346) 248-7799 
Meeting ID: 930 3526 4480
Passcode: 478160


General Info:

Amy Moyer, Assistant Director for Water,

Media Inquiries:

Chris Arend, Communications Director,, 303-264-8615